Bilateral Visa Waiver Agreements


Austria – More Info


Czech Republic
















Bilateral  visa  waiver  agreements  between  certain  Schengen States   and   certain   third   countries   as   provided   by   Article   20(2)   of   the   Convention Implementing  the  Schengen  Agreement(CISA).  According  to  that  provision Member  States have  the  possibility  to  “extend”  the duration  of stay of  visa – free  third – country  nationals beyond  90  days  under  the  following  circumstances.  In  case  a  Schengen  State  concluded  a bilateral  visa  waiver  agreement  with  a  third  country  of  the  so -called  “positive  visa  list” (like Canada, New Zealand or the US) before the entry into force of the Schengen Agreement (or the date of its later accession to the Schengen Agreement), the provisions of that bilateral agreement may continue to apply. The CISA provides for a Schengen State the possibility to extend  a visa – free  stay  beyond  90  days in  its  territory  for  the  nationals  of  the  third  country concerned  in  accordance  with  such  an  existing  bilateral  agreement.  Thus, for example  the nationals  of Canada,  New
Zealand,  US,  etc.  – depending  on  the  continued  application  of  the agreement by the Schengen State – may stay in such Schengen States for the period provided by  the  bilateral  visa  waiver  greement  in  force  between  the  two  countries  (generally  three
months), on top of the  general 90 days stay in the Schengen area.  Article 20(2) of the CISA only  provides for the  possibility  for  the  Schengen  States  to  apply  their  “old”  bilateral
agreements for such extension, but this is not an obligation.

AU passport holders traveling in Europe/Schengen zone

Bilateral Visa Waiver Agreement

Australia has Bilateral Visa Waiver Agreements with the following countries: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

This means that Australian passport holders can visit these countries without a visa, some of them up till 90 days, but you will need to check with the authorities of these countries personally. These countries are all signatories of the Schengen Treaty following which they have open borders among them. So there are no over land border controls between them, unless you cross a no non-member country on your way from the one to the other. If you fly directly between them there will be no immigration formalities, although the airline or security services may have reasons to check your passport.

Persons of Australian nationality are, according to the Bilateral Visa Waiver Agreement, entitled to stay in the Netherlands for 90 days and consecutively go to one of the other countries (length of stay depending on the agreement of Australia with that country!). Or the other way around, first visit one of those countries and then the Netherlands afterwards.

As stated before there is no border control between these countries, but there will be when you leave the Schengen area. You might be questioned about the length of your stay if it is more than 90 days. You are strongly advised to gather evidence (e.g. airline tickets, hotel bills, receipts, etc.) that show the duration of your stay in each different Schengen/EU country. That way you have the best option to prove that your stay in the entire Schengen area was legal. Not every border official is aware of the agreements so please consider the following:

Information on these bilateral visa waiver agreements can be found on the website of the Australian Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade:

You are advised to print out relevant information from this site and take it along with you, so you can show the border official/customs the information on the Bilateral agreements.


Schengen area consists of the following countries:


  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
From: EDCC <>
Sent: Tuesday, 27 September 2016 6:08 PM
Subject: Europe Direct – 101000085669


Thank you for contacting EUROPE DIRECT Contact Centre.The EU countries have established a common list of countries whose citizens require visas to enter the area, as well as a list of those which do not. Australian citizens are exempted from a visa requirements for short stays (maximum of 90 days in 180 day period).

Citizens of countries who do not require a visa for a short stay will have their travel documents, as well as other entry conditions, checked at the external borders of the Schengen area. Once in the Schengen area, their rights will be the same as those of a Schengen visa holder.

Further information on Schengen visa can be found in the following link:

We hope this will enable you to obtain the information you need. Please do not hesitate to contact us again should you require further assistance.

schengen & bilateral waiver

schengen visa and bilateral waiver visa agreements for Australians travelling to Europe…

Australia has Bilateral Visa Waiver Agreements with the following countries: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Please clearly explain how these work with schengen 90/180 day visa, what are the exact rules and regulations.

Thank you

With kind regards,
EUROPE DIRECT Contact Centre – your shortcut to the EU!